Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Final Fantasy sales top 85 million

Thu 23 Apr 2009 10:13am GMT / 6:13am EDT / 3:13am PDT
Retail

Square Enix reveals key franchise results, including Dragon Quest, Tomb Raider and Hitman

Square Enix has detailed the sales figures behind some of its most successful franchises, including those obtained under the acquisition of Eidos, at its Corporate Strategy Meeting.

The Final Fantasy series was revealed to have sold over 85 million units throughout its lifetime, while Dragon Quest sold 47 million and Kingdom Hearts sold 12 million.

Eidos' Tomb Raider sold around 30 million units, with the original 1996 title proving the most successful with more than 7 million copies sold, followed by the sequel in 1997. Meanwhile, last year's Tomb Raider: Underworld sold just over 2 million units.

The Hitman series sold 8 million units, with Hitman 2: Silent Assassin proving the most popular at nearly 4 million copies alone. Kane & Lynch sold just under 2 million units, while Deus Ex and its sequel, Deus Ex: Invisible War, sold just over a million units each - as did Just Cause.

Square Enix's acquisition of the UK publisher, Eidos, was approved by the courts earlier this week.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now