Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Spector: "100-hour games are on the way out"

Wed 18 Jun 2008 8:01am GMT / 4:01am EDT / 1:01am PDT
Development

Developer predicts changes to games design and issues call for creativity in all areas

Warren Spector, well-known for his work on the Deus Ex and Thief franchises, has told the Game Education Summit in Dallas that he believes game design priorities may change in light of the amount of money being spent on development, and expressed his boredom with some game types.

"I love working with Disney because I'm so tired of making games about guys in black leather carrying guns. I don't want to make those any more," he said, according to a report on Gamasutra.

"Game costs are going to be USD 35-40 million, even USD 100 million, and the expectations are huge. You have to differentiate yourselves. One-hundred hour games are on the way out…how many of you have finished GTA? Two per cent, probably. If we're spending USD 100 million on a game, we want you to see the last level!"

He also stated his belief that creativity was crucial for anybody wanted to make a name for themselves in the industry.

"I go to Pixar a lot and they talk a lot about guys who get 'shit shots' - the scene of Remy walking across the room or something," he said.

"The people who say 'I don't want to do that shit shot' last three weeks. The people who stay are the ones who can take that on and make it special. That's what we need - people who are going to make the boring parts special. People who push boundaries - and there's maybe 20 guys in the world who do it now."

Spector is currently at Junction Point studio, which he founded with Art Min, but which was acquired by Disney Interactive last July.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now