Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony to confirm 80GB PlayStation 3 for Europe

Wed 16 Jul 2008 3:00pm GMT / 11:00am EDT / 8:00am PDT
Hardware

David Reeves expected to announce new SKU this evening at press conference in LA

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sources have indicated to GamesIndustry.biz that Sony Europe boss David Reeves is due to announce that the 80GB PlayStation 3 will be released in Europe shortly.

At SCEE's European press event in Los Angeles this evening, it's expected that Reeves will confirm the new SKU, with a release period close to September 2008 – the date the 80GB model will become standard in North America.

As with the pricing of the 80GB model in the US, it's thought the PlayStation 3 will retail for the same price in Europe as the 40GB model, and the current SKU will be phased out when stock has been diminished.

Back in October last year Sony Europe discontinued the 60GB PlayStation 3 in the region, leaving only the 40GB model on retail shelves.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now