Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony quiet on leaked PS3 price cut rumours

Mon 24 Nov 2008 11:09am GMT / 6:09am EST / 3:09am PST
Business

Report suggests PS3 price to become "more competitive" in March 2009, LBP for PSP also rumoured again.

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony Europe has declined to comment on the supposedly leaked contents of its staff annual briefing, dismissing a report by D+Pad as "rumour and speculation," reports our sister site, Eurogamer.net.

The information, provided by an attending "source", included plans to be "more competitive" with PS3 pricing from March 2009.

Sony Europe boss David Reeves is also alleged to have said there will be technical innovations to come for both PS3 and PSP, although no details were given.

The source claims to have seen footage of Uncharted 2 and God of War 3 for the PlayStation 3, and LittleBigPlanet on PSP, which it's claimed Media Molecule has been working on for four months. According to the report, target footage of MotorStorm PSP was also shown.

Although Sony has repeatedly stated there will be no price cut for PlayStation 3 hardware this year, a price reduction in March in time for the Easter sales isn't far-fetched.

And before the release of the PlayStation 3 version of LittleBigPlanet, Media Molecule's co-founder Mark Healey told GamesIndustry.biz that "there's definitely scope for a PSP version," sparking rumours of a handheld Sackboy game.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now