Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony Online Entertainment announces scholarship winner

Tue 08 Jul 2008 3:30pm GMT / 11:30am EDT / 8:30am PDT
OnlinePublishing

The winner is to receive a $10k scholarship along with a 10-week paid internship in an SOE studio

Sony Online Entertainment has announced that Julia Brasil of San Francisco is the winner of the 2008 GIRL Game Design Competition.

Brasil was awarded a USD 10,000 scholarship towards her college education and a 10-week paid internship at an SOE studio of her choice in Austin, Denver, San Diego or Seattle.

"We believe our groundbreaking GIRL scholarship can give Julia the foundation she needs to pursue a successful career in the video games business. SOE is thrilled to jumpstart the first step in pursuing her goals," said Torrie Dorrell, senior vice president of global sales and marketing, SOE.

"We anticipate GIRL continuing to evolve and snowball, creating even more opportunities for women to get behind these games."

The competition, announced last April, was the first of its kind and was intended to encourage more women into the games industry.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now