Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony Japan announces free WiFi internet for PSPs

Fri 22 Aug 2008 2:52pm GMT / 10:52am EDT / 7:52am PDT
Business

Partnership with FON will see the handheld make use of a browser to download demos, clips and wallpapers across the region

Sony Computer Entertainment Japan has announced a partnership with the world's largest global WiFi community FON - to create a new service, PSP×FON.

Under the partnership the two companies plan to roll out FON access points in the region for a free internet browser via the Sony PlayStation Portable.

Starting today, there are approximately 44,000 FON spots across Japan and over 2,200 FON livedoor spots, which primarily cover central Tokyo. Through this service gamers can use their PSPs to download game demos, clips, wallpaper and the like.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now