Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony extends logo licensing deals

Tue 27 Jul 2010 2:38pm GMT / 10:38am EDT / 7:38am PDT
Business

PlayStation branding can now be used on non-games products

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony Computer Entertainment has extended its logo licensing business to allow manufacturers to incorporate it's iconic brands in clothing, accessories and other non-games products.

The Official Licensing Program for PlayStation already has 45 licensees and 123 items, with Sony hoping this new initiative will increase those numbers with new lifestyle branded items.

"With the help of third party companies, SCE will enrich the licensed product line-up and deliver various quality lifestyle products that will make the PlayStation brand more accessible than ever," said the company in a statement.

Manufacturers can design products using the PlayStation 3, PSP, PSPgo, PS2 and PlayStation logos, along with the △○□ face buttons. Licensees also carry a OLP logo to prove the product meets SCE standards.

1 Comment

Haven Tso
Web-based Game Reviewer

255 8 0.0
I wonder this is for overseas market or not? Because they already use them on other products for a long time. I have official PS logo products from Sony for quite a while - gym bag, coffee mugs, steel water bottles, stationery etc. I bought them from their stores in Hong Kong. So probably this deal is for an extension beyond the Asian market.

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now