Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony confirms LittleBigPlanet, MotorStorm for PSP

Tue 24 Feb 2009 5:01pm GMT / 12:01pm EST / 9:01am PST
Games

New Assassin's Creed and Rock Band also set for handheld release in 2009

Sony has revealed that hit PlayStation 3 brands LittleBigPlanet and MotorStorm will be released on the PSP.

Media Molecule has hinted before that “there's definitely scope for a PSP version” of the cute platformer, and the title is now scheduled for release this year.

MotorStorm: Arctic Edge is another title hoping to breathe life into the Sony handheld, joining a 2009 line-up that also includes Resistance: Retribution and Buzz: Brain of the UK.

"There are a lot of big claims in the gaming industry but we’re confident when we say that 2009 is going to be an exciting year for PSP," said Mark Hardy, European marketing director, SCEE.

"Our fans have demanded big PSP titles and this year, we’re going to deliver again and again. With Resistance: Retribution, already on its way to stores, PSP gamers are going to get one big franchise after another."

Other titles set for the PSP this year include a new game in the Assassin's Creed series from Ubisoft, along with new Petz titles from the publisher.

MTV Games and Harmonix are working on Rock Band Unplugged for the PSP, and Square Enix will be releasing Dissidia: Final Fantasy in the US this summer, after selling over 850,000 units in Japan.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now