Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony commits to dedicated 3D TV network

Wed 06 Jan 2010 9:01am GMT / 4:01am EST / 1:01am PST
Business

Partnership with IMAX and Discovery sees Sony ramp up 3D ambitions with 24/7 TV and movie channel

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony Corporation, Discovery Communications and IMAX Corporation are partnering to create the first dedicated 24/7 3D television network.

Initially a US launch, the goal of the channel is to drive adoption of 3D televisions and acceptance of the format, with international distribution opportunities planned for the future.

"Sony is the only company with expertise in every part of the 3D value chain," offered Sir Howard Stringer, President of the Sony Corporation. "We are delighted to be partnering with Discovery and IMAX, two premier companies also dedicated to leadership in 3D, in this ground breaking new venture.

"It is clear to us that consumers will always migrate to a better and richer entertainment experience, and together we are determined to be the leader in providing that around the world."

Sony told investors last year that its 3D strategy also includes gaming, with plans to upgrade the PlayStation 3 to 3D capability at some point in the near future.

As well as Sony, French publisher Ubisoft has often discussed its 3D gaming ambitions, and UK developer Blitz Games has already released Xbox Live Arcade game Invincible Tiger: The Legend of Han Tao in 3D, built using it's own propriety technology.

The three companies said that the new channel will focus on programming that suits the 3D experience, with Sony and IMAX also using the channel as an outlet to broadcast 3D feature films.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now