Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Software sales booming across Europe

Tue 19 Aug 2008 1:11pm GMT / 9:11am EDT / 6:11am PDT
Retail

Console game sales up in Netherlands, Germany, Spain, Italy and Portugal for first half of '08

Game software sales are booming across Northern Europe, according to data from Media Control GfK International.

Sales figures for the entire region were up 25.6 per cent for the first half of 2008 compared to last year, with retailers in the Netherlands experiencing a rise in revenues of 46 per cent, as customers bought 28 per cent more titles compared to 2007.

Sales in Germany and Italy both climbed 39 per cent compared to the first six months of 2007, with the quantity of games up 30.5 per cent and 26 per cent, respectively.

Spanish sales jumped 25 per cent, up 11 per cent by volume, and sales to consumers in Portugal have risen 19.8 per cent, a 3.8 per cent increase in quantity.

Media Control puts the rise in sales down to the Europe-wide success of Nintendo's DS and the continued growth in titles for the home consoles.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now