Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Social Gaming Network raises $2m from Google CEO

Tue 22 Jun 2010 8:17am GMT / 4:17am EDT / 1:17am PDT
Mobile

Mobile and Facebook dev expecting further Series B funding soon

SGN

Californian mobile developer Social Gaming Network has picked a $2 million cheque from Tomorrow Ventures, the investment firm owned by Google boss Eric Schmidt and Xing founder Lars Hinrichs.

The studio previously raised a $15 million first round in 2008, from Greylock Partners, the Founders Fund, Columbia Partners, and Novak Biddle Venture Partners.

SGN says it expects this $2 million in second round funding to be the first strike in a larger volley of investment.

Social Gaming Network is best known for iPhone and Facebook titles such as EXO-Planet Elite, Mafia, Agency Wars, Vampires vs. Werewolves and Skies of Glory.

Its next move is to also begin producing games for Android OS mobile phones. Android devices currently account for 19.9 per cent of the smartphone market, up 12 per cent on last year, according to analysts Quantcast.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now