Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Smash Bros. director heads up new studio

Wed 18 Feb 2009 10:57am GMT / 5:57am EST / 2:57am PST
Development

Nintendo-backed Project Sora at work on "special project" with $2.1 million in financing

Nintendo announced today the formation of new studio run by Smash Bros. Brawl director Masahiro Sakurai, entitled Project Sora.

The Tokyo-based studio was officially formed on January 22 and has capital of JPY 200 million (USD 2.1 million), of which Nintendo provided 72 per cent, to employ a staff of 30 to work on a new title, according to Andriasang.

"The thoughts of game designer Masahiro Sakurai and Nintendo have become one, and a new project has started," reads the new studio's site. "In order to expand what can be offered to the world through games, we will have Nintendo's full cooperation and make something that Nintendo could not do on its own."

The upcoming title was described by Nintendo president and CEO Satoru Iwata as "a new experiment, both for Mr. Sakurai and for Nintendo".

Sakurai added: "We've started a special project. We're not sure how it will sell or if it will be accepted. Our goal is not just to make a single game. We can promise that you'll be able to experience something different."

1 Comment

Jim Webb
Executive Editor/Community Director

2,270 2,439 1.1
Hmmm, when Nintendo claims it is something they couldn't do on their own, that it's an experiment, a special project, more than one game, etc...should I be worried, scared, excited or thrilled?

The answer is D. All of the above. Could be the next Virtual Boy. Could be the next Wii.

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now