Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Shareholders approve Koei merger with Tecmo

Mon 26 Jan 2009 2:31pm GMT / 9:31am EST / 6:31am PST
Business

$207 million deal given the greenlight to take place later this year

Shareholders have approved the merger between Japanese companies Tecmo and Koei, set to take place on April 1.

The companies made the announcement in statements to the Tokyo Stock Exchange today, according to Reuters.

Under the USD 207 million deal, announced last November, Tecmo investors will receive 0.9 shares in the merged company for every Tecmo share they hold, while Koei stockholders will receive a one-for-one exchange.

Tecmo attracted the attention of potential buyers, including Square Enix, after the company's president stepped down, following a public spat with the former Team Ninja lead Tomonobu Itagaki.

1 Comment

This obviously opens up a whole new world of possibilities, such as "boobtech" rolled out on a new Dynasty Warriors franchise perhaps :)

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now