Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Shanda Games acquires Mochi Media for $80m

Wed 13 Jan 2010 8:46am GMT / 3:46am EST / 12:46am PST
BusinessOnline

Online multiplayer developer snaps up US-based Flash firm

Chinese online game developer Shanda Games is to acquire San Francisco based Mochi Media for $80 million.

Mochi Media has over 140 million monthly users of its online games network, with 15,000 browser-based games. Its platform offers distribution, advertising and monetisation solutions to game developers.

"We are excited to be bringing two of the best teams in the online game industry together in the perfect marriage of content and platform," offered Diana Li, CEO of Shanda Games. "Mochi Media's impressive array of browser-based games is an ideal complement to Shanda Games’ portfolio of nearly 70 multi-player online games.

"With Shanda Games’ ability to source robust content through multiple channels, and Mochi Media’s reach to users, game developers and publishers worldwide through its leading innovative platform, this transaction positions Shanda Games to become a truly global online game media platform. We look forward to devoting our energy and focus to the integration process."

The deal is expected to complete in the spring.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now