Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Sega records 9-month loss of $119m

Tue 10 Feb 2009 9:46am GMT / 4:46am EST / 1:46am PST
FinancePublishing

Consumer business, containing videogames segment, posts $61.4 million loss

Sega Sammy Holdings has released its financial statement for the nine months to the end of December 2008, noting a JPY 10.8 billion (USD 119 million) loss in total across the business.

However, that compares favourably with a JPY 15.8 billion (USD 173 million) loss in the same period the previous year, despite overall revenues falling by 15.4 per cent.

The corporation's Consumer Business division, which houses the videogame development arm, saw an operating loss of JPY 5.6 billion (USD 61.4 million) on net sales of JPY 96.2 billion (USD 1.06 billion).

In total the company sold over 21 million software units over the nine months, with 8.8 million sold in the US, 9.1 million in Europe and 3.1 million in Japan and other regions.

Key titles included Sonic Unleashed, Football Manager 2009 and Sonic & Mario at the Olympic Games, while Empire: Total War is expected to be a big hit following its release in March this year.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now