Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

SCi officially launches new casual games label

Mon 14 May 2007 9:05am GMT / 5:05am EDT / 2:05am PDT

SCi Entertainment has become the latest software publisher to enter the casual games market, announcing the official launch of label SoGoPlay.

SCi Entertainment has become the latest software publisher to enter the casual games market, announcing the official launch of label SoGoPlay.

The company acquired SoGoPlay when it purchased sister company Rockpool Games back in February.

According to a statement, SoGoPlay "has been carefully chosen to be the standalone brand which epitomises the essence of casual gaming and embraces both boxed retail and digital casual titles under a single umbrella".

Forthcoming titles include SPY-Q and Nervous Brickdown for Nintendo DS and Merry-Go-Round, a downloadable PC game. SCi said a number of as yet unannounced titles for Wii and PlayStation 2 will be released this autumn.

"Sales of casual games both online and at retail have exploded in recent months and we intend to harness the existing growth potential in the US as well as position ourselves ready for the anticipated boom to come in Europe," said Lou Fawcett, head of casual games at SCi.

"But it's not just PC games that we're focusing on, it's also console and mobile games that have a broad appeal. We're aiming to establish SoGoPlay as THE flagship casual games brand."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now