Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sci-fi author to keynote Austin GDC

Wed 23 Jul 2008 8:12am GMT / 4:12am EDT / 1:12am PDT
Events

Bruce Sterling to discuss the next 35 years of gaming technology and its effects on culture

Science fiction writer and futurist Bruce Sterling has been confirmed as a keynote speaker for the Austin Game Developers Conference, taking place over September 15-17 at the Austin Convention Centre.

Sterling's keynote will be on the future of computer entertainment and predicting its expansion by 2043, where he will describe four possible scenarios for the games industry's future.

"We are thrilled to have Bruce Sterling as a keynote speaker this year. He will not only inspire our industry's storytellers to see the future of gaming, and their role in shaping that future but also provoke the minds of all of Austin GDC's attendees," said Susan O'Connor, Austin GDC advisor and game writer.

Sterling was the editor of the 1986 short story collection Mirrorshades, which featured the cutting edge of science fiction and is one of the originators of the cyberpunk genre.

"Austin GDC aims to speak to the untapped technical and creative potential of existing and future platforms; Bruce Sterling’s talk champions that goal, inspiring developers to extend beyond the current and to propel games development into the future," said Izora de Lillard, event director.

"Keynotes such as Sterling continue to make the Austin Game Developers Conference so unique and progressive."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now