Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

SCEA to end online service for older titles

Mon 07 Apr 2008 8:56am GMT / 4:56am EDT / 1:56am PDT
Online

Support for selected online PS2 and PSP games to finish in June as demand falls

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

SCEA has announced that it will be shutting down the servers for a number of its older online titles for the PlayStation 2 and PlayStation Portable platforms.

According to dbTechno the online games will end on June 30 this year, and while most games will still be playable offline, two of the titles which only have online modes will become unplayable.

The closure of online play servers for older titles is a normal process, and is only usually applied to games which have a very low, or no, demand.

The full list of titles for which servers will be closed is as follows:

PlayStation 2 games

  • Amplitude
  • Destruction Derby Arenas
  • Everybody’s Golf
  • EyeToy Chat*
  • F1 '04
  • Jak X
  • Lemmings PS2
  • My Street
  • Syphon Filter Omega Strain
  • This is Football 2004
  • This is Football 2005
  • Twisted Metal: Black Online*

PlayStation Portable games

  • Lemmings
  • World Tour Soccer 2

* Denotes titles that are online-only

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now