Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Scaleform reveals GFx 3.2 upgrade

Thu 08 Apr 2010 7:48am GMT / 3:48am EDT / 12:48am PDT
Developer Tools

Flash-based user interface middleware allows for stereoscopic 3D

Scaleform has announced the GFx 3.2 upgrade for their Flash-based user interface middleware technology, enabling the use of 3D menus and displays in games, including stereoscopic 3D.

Already previewed at GDC 2010, the latest version of the software also introduces a Flash profiling tool called AMP and new out-of-the-box Menu kits. Also included is support for native Flash filters, 30 new video-based tutorials and a Direct Access API.

"We're excited to lead the way for the future of interface design as developers take traditional 2D interfaces to the next dimension and create stunning in-game 3D interfaces that rival the CGI special effects of high-budget films," said Brendan Iribe, co-founder, president and CEO of Scaleform.

"Designed for both artists and programmers, AMP provides an elegant way to identify and resolve the inefficiencies in Flash content, whether it be optimising ActionScript, eliminating font updates, or reducing texture memory," said chief software architect and co-founder Michael Antonov.

Scaleform claims to have over 600 game customers, including Microsoft Game Studios, with the technology being used in everything from casual titles to AAA retail products.

1 Comment

Kingman Cheng
Illustrator and Animator

954 182 0.2
Looks like there is no stopping this storm of 3d technology in games, I can imagine this being used in a menu system like Dead Space.

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now