Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Scaleform GFx in new Unreal Engine bundle

Thu 15 Apr 2010 10:26am GMT / 6:26am EDT / 3:26am PDT
Developer Tools

User interface middleware to be bundled with Unreal Engine free of charge

Flash-based user interface middleware Scaleform GFx is to be bundled free of charge with all current and future versions of Epic Games' Unreal Engine 3.

The announcement was made at the Epic Games Japan launch event in Tokyo, with Epic also revealing that they will use Scaleform's technology for future titles such as Gears of War 3.

Both middleware solutions were previously sold separately and Scaleform GFx will still be available as a standalone product, supporting middleware technologies other than Unreal Engine.

"Scaleform GFx is the clear leader in user interface design for casual and triple-A games alike with its unmatched versatility, performance enhancing features and new 3Di technology," said Tim Sweeney, CEO of Epic Games.

"Making Unreal Engine 3 a complete out-of-the-box solution for all developers is one of our core goals," said Mark Rein, vice president of Epic Games. "It quickly became evident that Scaleform GFx is far and away the best UI solution in the market and will remain without equal for years to come."

"Epic is an innovator in game design and 3D engine middleware technology. Their long-term confidence in Scaleform GFx is a strong endorsement of our proven track record, increasing ubiquity, and overall leadership in the game market," said Brendan Iribe, co-founder, president and CEO of Scaleform.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now