Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Savvy consumers pick up Modern Warfare 2 for 24.99

Mon 02 Nov 2009 4:54pm GMT / 11:54am EST / 8:54am PST
RetailPublishing

Deal offering Activision title for 4.99 with two trade-ins allows consumers to bypass publisher price hike

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Smart consumers are taking advantage of various offers at retail to buy Activision's Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 for less than half the recommended retail price.

The publisher has been heavily criticised for pushing up the console RRP of the latest from Infinity Ward to 54.99, but a cut-throat retail market is providing consumers with a number of options to avoid paying the inflated price.

UK retailer Gamestation is currently offered the game for 4.99 if a consumer trades in two games from a list that includes WET, Overlord II and Sacred 2: Fallen Angel. With Play.com selling Overlord II for just 9.99, users on website hotukdeals have already begun buying two copies of the Codemasters' title and trading it in for a pre-ordered copy Modern Warfare 2.

Online retailers are currently offering the basic Modern Warfare game for around 45, but all eyes will be on the supermarkets, which have already slashed two big releases FIFA 2010 and Operation Flashpoint 2: Dragon Rising in order to grab sales.

Last week, ASDA admitted that it sells some games at a loss because "customers continue to tell us that computer games are an expensive product in today's economic climate so we are working hard to try and offer them consistently good value for money within the games category".

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now