Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Rockstar rules the UK charts for a fifth week

Mon 21 Jun 2010 2:57pm GMT / 10:57am EDT / 7:57am PDT
Retail

Red Dead Redemption holds off Mario and FIFA despite sales decline

Rockstar's Red Dead Redemption is the current number one in the UK retail charts for a fifth consecutive week, according to Chart-Track - despite a 24% drop in sales.

Even during the peak of football mania, EA's 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa has been unable to dominate the chart, remaining at third place despite a 16% increase. The top three is entirely uchanged since last week, with Wii sequel Super Mario Galaxy 2 remaining in second place but nonetheless selling more units on a single platform.

At one point the Mario title threatened to topple Red Dead, but there is now a 5000 unit gap between the two, with Nintendo's title declining by 29%.

The all-formats, all-prices top ten sees no new entries, though Codemaster's International Cricket 2010 has placed at 12 and PSP title Metal Gear Solid: Peacewalker at 18.

Two games return to the higher echelons of the chart, however: Ubisoft's latest Prince of Persia title (with sales up 18% thanks to a discount to 25) and Activision's racer Blur.

Making way for them in the top 10 are The Sims 3: Ambitions and THQ's latest iteration of UFC Undisputed.

  • 01 Red Dead Redemption
  • 02 Super Mario Galaxy 2
  • 03 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa
  • 04 Just Dance
  • 05 Rooms: The Main Building
  • 06 Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
  • 07 Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands
  • 08 Wii Fit Plus
  • 09 Blur
  • 10 Wii Sports Resort

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now