Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Rockstar North honoured in Develop Awards

Thu 31 Jul 2008 1:45am GMT / 9:45pm EDT / 6:45pm PDT
Events

GTA IV developer takes home a clutch of awards at the event in Brighton

Rockstar North has won in four categories at this year's Develop Industry Excellence Awards, taking place in Brighton as part of the Develop Conference.

The company was the only one to win multiple awards across the 16 categories, and bagged the Visual Arts, Audio Accomplishment, Technical Innovation and In-House Developer titles.

The overall Rockstar company also won a Special Recognition award for its work throughout the industry's history, something for which a representative broke with the company's usual trend of not giving acceptance speeches to speak a few words of thanks.

Other key winners on the night included Frontier Developments, which took the Best New IP award for WiiWare title LostWinds, while Nintendo was given the Publishing Hero Award.

Lego Indiana Jones was deemed Best Use of a License for Traveller's Tales, while Epic scooped Tools Provider and Splash Damage grabbed the Independent Developer award.

And last year's 3-time winner following the success of Crackdown - Realtime Worlds - picked up the Business Development award, with the company having secured significant investment capital in the past twelve months.

Babel Media, Richard Jacques Studios, OPM, Abertay University/Dare to be Digital, Doublesix and Ideaworks3D were also honoured.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now