Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Rock the Vote initiative to work through Xbox Live

Fri 22 Aug 2008 8:14am GMT / 4:14am EDT / 1:14am PDT
Politics

Voters can register, participate in polls and download public service announcements through the console

Microsoft has announced a partnership with Rock the Vote, which will allow US Xbox 360 owners to register to vote, participate in presidential polls and voice their opinions to the presidential candidates through Xbox Live.

The service will start August 25, the first day of the Democratic National Convention, and it is hoped will encourage two million US voters under 30 to engage with the political process. Users will also be able to download Rock the Vote's public service announcements, while Xbox Live will have a presence at both the Democratic and Republican conventions.

"Xbox is a natural partner to help us reach out to youth voters," said Heather Smith, executive director, Rock the Vote. "To realise our goal of registering two million young Americans by this fall, we need to go where young Americans are, and there's no doubt in our minds that many are on Xbox 360 and Xbox Live."

Marc Whitten, general manager of Xbox Live, added: "The Xbox Live community is active, vocal and passionate ... We're thrilled to partner with Rock the Vote to make it easier than ever for youth voters - and our members - to register and be heard."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now