Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Rock Band earns Harmonix a $208.7 million bonus

Mon 03 Mar 2008 4:49pm GMT / 11:49am EST / 8:49am PST

Viacom has paid Rock Band developer Harmonix an additional USD 208.7 million under terms of the company's acquisition

Viacom may be paying Harmonix an additional USD 208.7 million under terms of the company's acquisition, based upon the success of Rock Band.

MTV Games, a Viacom subsidiary, acquired Harmonix back in 2006 for USD 175 million. Viacom's Form 10-K statement, released last week, indicates that the company offered a financial incentive as part of the acquisition.

"In addition, to the extent financial results exceed specific contractual targets against a defined gross profit metric through 2008, former Harmonix shareholders will be eligible for incremental earn-out payments with respect to the years ended December 31, 2007 and December 31, 2008," the form read.

Viacom has already recorded a liability of USD 208.7 million for the expected earn-out payment and expects to have a final payment due in 2009 for performance through calendar 2008.

The company referred to the launch of Rock Band as "an unqualified success, setting the foundation for another valuable franchise."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now