Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Rock Band 2 announced as warranty restrictions lifted

Mon 30 Jun 2008 9:00am GMT / 5:00am EDT / 2:00am PDT
Development

Improvements have been made to the sequel based off consumer reaction, says Harmonix CEO

Harmonix has loosened its warranty restrictions for consumers looking to repair or replace faulty instrument peripherals ahead of its announcement of Rock Band 2.

"As successful as the original Rock Band continues to be, we've now had the benefit of the last eight months to listen to our fans' requests and to build upon that foundation," said Alex Rigopulos, co-founder and CEO of Harmonix, according to IGN.

"Rock Band 2 is a second-generation band game that will elevate the music game experience to the next level."

Ahead of the announcement Harmonix revealed it has loosened its warranty restrictions for consumers looking to replace broken peripherals.

Previously customers had to work within a 60-day warranty limit and were required to show a receipt or proof of purchase as a record for when the products were bought. However, Harmonix have waived the 60-day limit and the receipt requirements, admitting that November's shipment of game bundles had suffered manufacturing issues.

The loosened restrictions will last until October 1, 2008, after which the company will revert to its 60-day warranty policy, as reported by Gamasutra.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now