Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Riccitiello: "We got too fat, too reliant"

Fri 20 Feb 2009 8:51am GMT / 3:51am EST / 12:51am PST
Business

EA exec calls recession a "blessing in disguise"

EA's outspoken CEO John Riccitiello has admitted that the company got too big and too complacent, leading to its recent woes with sky-high development costs and disappointing financial returns

Speaking at the DICE Summit, he said the current recession is a "blessing in disguise," as it forces publishers to trim the fat and rethink the development process.

"We did get fat in too many places. It seemed like anyone who could draw a guy with a gun with a crayon could get funded," said Riccitiello, reports Gamasutra.

"At least for EA, we got a little too fat, and a little too reliant on where things were."

The publisher has cut up to 1100 jobs at its studios around the globe, including positions at Black Box, Pandemic and Mythic.

3 Comments

"It seemed like anyone who could draw a guy with a gun with a crayon could get funded."

Was that the executive recruitment policy John?

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Jim Webb Executive Editor/Community Director, E-mpire Ltd. Co.

2,270 2,439 1.1
He certainly has no qualms about telling it like it is.

Posted:5 years ago

#2
I am sure the talented guys you felt the full force of EA's round of redundancies really appreciate being refered to as blubber.

Posted:5 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now