Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Riccitiello confirms Knights of the Old Republic MMO

Fri 18 Jul 2008 8:13am GMT / 4:13am EDT / 1:13am PDT

Anticipated Star Wars franchise will be returning as one of EA's upcoming online games

EA BioWare

BioWare develops high quality console, PC and online role-playing games, focused on rich stories, unforgettable...

bioware.com

Electronic Arts CEO John Riccitiello has revealed that EA is working with Lucasarts on an MMO version of Star Wars game Knights of the Old Republic.

Speaking to Conde Nast Portfolio during the E3 event in Los Angeles, Riccitiello confirmed that one of its upcoming MMOs will be a sequel to BioWare's popular Knights of the Old Republic franchise and went on to detail EA's failed attempt to reach a deal with Vivendi in order to acquire World of Warcraft.

"We've got two of the most compelling MMOs in the industry in development - And the one that people are dying for us to talk to them about - in partnership with Lucas, coming out of BioWare, which is, I think, quite possibly the most anticipated game, full stop, for the industry at the point when we get closer to telling you about it."

When asked if he was referring to Knights of the Old Republic Online, Riccitiello replied: "Yes."

Riccitiello further revealed that EA was interested in owning World of Warcraft, and it did discuss the matter with Vivendi, but they were unable to reach an agreement.

"Because [Vivendi] couldn't afford control of EA, and I wasn't giving it up," he explained.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now