Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Retail dates 80GB PlayStation 3 release for this Friday

Mon 18 Aug 2008 9:59am GMT / 5:59am EDT / 2:59am PDT
RetailHardware

Leading online stores all gear up for August 22 release

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Online retailers have confirmed that the 80GB PlayStation 3 will go on sale in Europe this Friday.

Previously, SCEE president David Reeves had indicated that the new hardware SKU would launch a week later on August 27.

However, Play.com. Amazon, Gamestation and GAME are all listing the console for August 22, with Sony expected to officially announce the date at Leipzig Games Convention this week.

The 80GB console replaces the current 40GB PlayStation 3, and retails for the same price of GBP 299.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now