Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Resident Evil series hits 34.5m units sold

Tue 27 May 2008 10:16am GMT / 6:16am EDT / 3:16am PDT

Capcom's best-selling game of all time is Street Fighter II for the Super Nintendo

Capcom has revealed sales figures for its most successful franchises, with the Resident Evil series out in front with 34.5 million units sold over 50 different games.

Over 120 different titles, the Mega Man franchise has shifted 28 million units, while the Street Fighter series has sold 25 million units between 59 titles.

The publisher's best-selling game of all time is Street Fighter II for the Super Nintendo, with 6.3 million units sold.

The top ten franchise and individual game sales follow:

Capcom's top ten game franchise sales

1. Resident Evil Series (50 titles, 34,500,000 units sold)

2. Mega Man Series (120 titles, 28,000,000)

3. Street Fighter Series (59 titles, 25,000,000)

4. Disney Series (33 titles, 13,200,000)

5. Devil May Cry Series (10 titles, 9,500,000)

6. Onimusha Series (12 titles, 7,800,000)

7. Monster Hunter Series (10 titles, 6,300,000)

8. Dino Crisis Series (13 titles, 4,400,000)

9. Ghosts 'n Goblins Series (15 titles, 4,300,000)

10. Final Fight Series (10 titles, 3,200,000)

Capcom's top ten Platinum-selling games

1. Street Fighter II (6,300,000 units sold)

2. Resident Evil 2 (4,960,000)

3. Street Fighter II Turbo (4,100,000)

4. Resident Evil 3 Nemesis (3,500,000)

5. Resident Evil (2,750,000)

6. Dino Crisis (2,400,000)

7. Devil May Cry 4 (2,300,000)

8. Devil May Cry (2,160,000)

9. Monster Hunter Freedom 2 (2,150,000)

10. Onimusha: Warlords, (2,020,000)

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now