Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Resident Evil 5 sells 5 million units

Tue 26 May 2009 7:07am GMT / 3:07am EDT / 12:07am PDT
Publishing

CFO Kazuhiko Abe reveals sales figures at a Tokyo technology summit

Resident Evil 5 has sold 5 million units worldwide, according to company CFO Kazuhiko Abe.

Speaking at the Reuters Global Technology Summit last week in Tokyo, Abe revealed that sales across both the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 versions of the game sold a combined 4.4 million units by March 31, with an additional 570,000 sold in April. Though these figures combine to only 4.97 million, the game is assumed to have sold more than the 30,000 units necessary in May to push it over 5 million.

According to the NPD Group, Resident Evil 5 topped US game sales in March, moving a combined 1.5 million units in its first three weeks of availability.

During this same conference, Abe also revealed that Capcom has ramped up iPhone development, as GamesIndustry.biz previously reported.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now