Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Live game content proven to boost player engagement

Thu 22 Apr 2010 7:39am GMT / 3:39am EDT / 12:39am PDT
OnlineAdvertising

1 vs 100 study reveals live shows increased player minutes significantly

Gamers are likely to remain engaged with a game for longer if it offers live content, according to new research by Nielsen.

The study also showed that, like television, videogames have their own prime time hours with 7-11pm proving the most popular, reports Gamasutra.

Using data supplied by Microsoft, Nielsen studied the usage habits of players of the online game 1 vs 100 for the study.

It found that players averaged more than 70 minutes of continuous playtime when taking into account the premiere 1 vs 100 Live event and the more practice-based 1 vs 100 Extended Play.

However, when Extended Play data was excluded, it was shown that average playtime increased to 87 minutes, indicating stronger player investment in the higher stakes show.

The study also showed that 1 vs 100 players were continually active through the game's numerous rounds - indicating that they were viewing the adverts that play in between questions.

"In one specific case, an advertiser who placed ads within the games saw notable brand recall and lift," said Xbox Live advertising senior audience and analysis manager, Carolyn Fuson. "Our ability to learn more about the audience can only be a positive to those brands looking to make an impact on the growing gaming community."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now