Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Registration opens for World Cyber Games 2008

Mon 17 Mar 2008 5:09pm GMT / 1:09pm EDT / 10:09am PDT

World Cyber Games has announced its 2008 official tournament games line up

World Cyber Games has announced its 2008 official tournament games line up.

For 2008, Halo 3 and Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock will join returning favourites such as Starcraft: Brood War, WarCraft III: The Frozen Throne and more.

This is also the first year that a mobile title - Asphalt 3: Street Rules - is part of the WCG competition.

"It is with great honour that the WCG announces the most powerful, broad-reaching and distinguished lineup of tournament games in the history of eSports," said Hyoung-Seok Kim, president and CEO of WCG organisers International Cyber Marketing.

In 2007, more than 12 million viewers watched WCG events on MTV Networks' Spike TV.

The 2008 WCG titles will be played by gamers in more than 70 countries worldwide on Windows PC, Xbox 360 and cellular phone platforms. Along with cash and prizes, participants will have a chance to represent their respective country at the WCG 2008 Grand Final this November in Cologne, Germany.

The full list of WCG 2008 games is as follows:

PC Games:

Half-Life: Counter-Strike 1.6
Starcraft: Brood War
WarCraft III: The Frozen Throne
Command & Conquer 3: Kane's Wrath
Age of Empires III: The Asian Dynasties
FIFA Soccer 08
Need For Speed ProStreet (except US & Canada)
Carom3D
Red Stone

Xbox 360 Games:

Halo 3
Need For Speed ProStreet (US & Canada only)
Project Gotham Racing 4
Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock
Virtua Fighter 5

Mobile Game:

Asphalt 3: Street Rules

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now