Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Rebel Monkey raises $1 million investment

Tue 05 Feb 2008 2:47pm GMT / 9:47am EST / 6:47am PST

Casual games outfit Rebel Monkey has raised USD 1 million in first round investment from Redpoint Ventures, a firm that originally backed MySpace and Netflix, amongst others.

Casual games outfit Rebel Monkey has raised USD 1 million in first round investment from Redpoint Ventures, a firm that originally backed MySpace and Netflix, amongst others.

Rebel Monkey was founded last year by former Skunk Studios exec Margaret Wallace and Diner Dash designer Nick Fortugno.

"Rebel Monkey is on the brink of becoming a powerhouse in the casual games industry," said Fouad ElNaggar, principal with Redpoint Ventures.

"Given Margaret and Nick's combined experience in business and design, they are positioning Rebel Monkey to be on the leading edge of connected casual gaming."

Rebel Monkey is remaining secretive about its casual plans, although it has identified "new kinds of community-centric casual game experiences to attract and connect players" as an area of focus.

"At Rebel Monkey, we have a passion for casual games and for delivering total entertainment experiences that are rich in character and community," commented Margaret Wallace, co-founder and CEO.

"We are delighted to have the backing of Redpoint Ventures, who share our vision for where we can take the casual game industry in 2008 and beyond."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now