Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Realtime Worlds donates $1000 to APB fansite

Thu 26 Jun 2008 8:31am GMT / 4:31am EDT / 1:31am PDT
Online

Developer shows love for community as it raises cash for dedicated server

Crackdown developer Realtime Worlds has donated USD 1000 to fansite APB-Evolved to help keep the site up and running.

The fansite is currently trying to raise cash to buy its own dedicated server, in order to handle increased traffic.

It's not the first time the developer of the forthcoming MMO All Points Bulletin has shown the community some love – earlier this month it guaranteed that all registered members of the site's forum would gain access to the beta test of the game.

"Realtime Worlds feels you should all be able to focus your efforts on continuing to build and run this awesome site which we hope will 'evolve' alongside the game, as such we would like to donate the $1000 required to secure the hosting of this site for the next 12 months and beyond," wrote Chris Dye, community relations manager for Realtime Worlds, on APB-Evolved.com.

"You have also offered a great place for new fans of the game to come and not only share their ideas and learn more about the game from yourselves, but have provided them with a friendly supportive group in which to do this."

Realtime Worlds boss Dave Jones has said that community and the player are central to the mechanics of All Points Bulletin, with the developer keen to step away from the 'grind' associated with MMO games, and use the "player as content".

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now