Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Realtime Worlds buys back APB rights

Mon 21 Apr 2008 3:01pm GMT / 11:01am EDT / 8:01am PDT
Business

The Scottish developer regains the global distribution rights on its upcoming MMO

Realtime Worlds has bought back the global distribution rights to its forthcoming online game APB.

Buying the rights for the MMO comes after the Scottish developer's recent USD 50 million second round funding, which it claims will help it achieve independence and maintain creative control.

"Owning the distribution rights to APB marks a major milestone in Realtime Worlds' evolution into a premier online entertainment company," explained David Jones, founder and CEO, Realtime Worlds.

"By controlling the rights to APB we can ensure that gamers around the globe experience the revolutionary gameplay we envisioned when we first began creating the property."

"We are excited about the prospect of having direct, personal relationships with our players, which is a dream come true for many development studios," he added.

Realtime Worlds was formed by developers who worked on the GTA games and gained notoriety itself for the Xbox 360 game Crackdown. APB is an MMOG for the PC set in urban-based community, where players choose between playing the criminals or law enforcement.

An exclusive interview with Realtime Worlds' David Jones can be read here

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now