Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

PSP tops Japan's hardware chart

Fri 09 May 2008 7:12am GMT / 3:12am EDT / 12:12am PDT
RetailHardware

Sony handheld sells over 100,000 units as dominant 2008 performance continues

Sony's PlayStation Portable continued to pull away from the other hardware platforms in terms of 2008 sales in Japan, with gamers buying up over 100,000 units in the week ending May 4, according to Media Create.

That gives it sales this year of almost 1.6 million, compared to the second-placed Nintendo Wii, which sold 71,500 units across the week and 1.3 million so far this year.

The Nintendo DS was in third, with sales of 52,500, followed by the PlayStation 3 in fourth, the PlayStation 2 in fifth and the Xbox 360 a distant sixth place.

The full sales figures are as follows:

  • 1. PlayStation Portable: 100,870
  • 2. Nintendo Wii: 71,518
  • 3. Nintendo DS: 52,542
  • 4. PlayStation 3: 10,177
  • 5. PlayStation 2: 8802
  • 6. Xbox 360: 1725

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now