Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PSP to get 100MB Minis games

Tue 18 Aug 2009 5:53pm GMT / 1:53pm EDT / 10:53am PDT
Development

New initiative designed to attract developers who have never worked on format before

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony has unveiled a new initiative for PlayStation Portable games to attract new talent to the system.

PSP Minis will be small digital games for the handheld and be limited to 100MB in size, and retail for a lower price than normal titles.

"Minis allow many developers who have never developed for PSP before to do so for the first time. They offer smaller, downloadable games at low prices," confirmed Andrew House, European president on Sony, at Gamescom today.

15 Minis games will launch on the PlayStation Network on October 1, with 50 titles promised before the end of the year.

As well as publishers such as Electronic Arts, studios including Gamehasta in India and Halfbrick in Australia are also developing titles.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now