Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

PSP-4000 due for release in 2009

Tue 16 Dec 2008 11:35am GMT / 6:35am EST / 3:35am PST
Hardware

New iteration of handheld next year, developers also currently working on titles for true PSP successor

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony plans to refresh the PlayStation Portable product line with a PSP-4000 model in late 2009 and launch a true successor at a later date.

Publishing sources, speaking to our sister site Eurogamer.net, were unable to provide any further detail on next year's update, which will presumably follow this year's PSP-3000 in taking an iterative approach.

The PSP-3000 launched this October and followed a 2000-series model, the first Slim & Lite, in September 2007.

Even fewer details were available on the PSP successor, but we're told that developers are already working on games.

Sony UK said today that it would not comment on rumour and speculation.

PSP-3000 bundles currently retail for GBP 129.99 the UK following its October launch, and despite sporadic software support and fewer platform-exclusives than Nintendo's DS, strong sales in Japan have propelled it to sales of over 30 million according to Sony's corporate sales website.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now