Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

PS3 Slim tops Amazon pre-order charts

Wed 19 Aug 2009 3:13pm GMT / 11:13am EDT / 8:13am PDT
Retail

UK site limits number of units to five per person in effort to curb potential stock shortages

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Pre-orders for the slim PlayStation 3 are already topping the videogame charts at online retailer Amazon.

The new hardware was only officially announced by Sony yesterday, but already the console has climbed to the top of the charts on the firm's US and UK sites.

The redesigned console will take on the new USD 299 / EUR 299 / GBP 249 price when it's released in the first week of September, as Sony looks to boost flagging sales of its home entertainment machine.

And in a effort to curb consumers buying up stock and selling it on at a higher price if demand outstrips supply, the retailer is limiting the amount of units to five for each consumer in the UK.

"This product can sometimes be in great demand, and there can be shortages of this product across the UK," said Amazon.

"In an effort to provide as many customers as possible with the opportunity to purchase it, we are limiting the total number of units that can be purchased."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now