Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PS3 gets £82m Euro marketing blitz

Tue 25 Aug 2009 8:05am GMT / 4:05am EDT / 1:05am PDT
Advertising

New TV ad to air this evening, £6 million dedicated to UK market

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony has launched a GBP 82 million marketing blitz for its redesigned console across European territories.

A new TV ad due to air tonight highlights the consoles connected and entertainment services, but makes no direct mention of specific videogames.

"Two years after launch PlayStation 3 is realising its full potential," Alan Duncan, UK marketing director for SCEE, told The Guardian. "The console is moving beyond gaming and gaming is moving beyond discs."

Sony is committing GBP 6 million to the UK market, where the slim PlayStation 3 retails at the new price of GBP 249.

According to the report, Screen Digest has forecast that the PlayStation 3 will sell 4.3 million units in Europe this year, compared to 3 million Xbox 360s and 7.5 million Wii consoles.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now