Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

PS3 a "waste of time," says Valve's Newell

Thu 11 Oct 2007 4:36pm GMT / 12:36pm EDT / 9:36am PDT

In an interview with EDGE Magazine, Valve's Gabe Newell didn't mince words when it came to his dislike of the PS3

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

In an interview with EDGE Magazine, Valve's Gabe Newell didn't mince words when it came to his dislike of the PS3.

"I think [PS3 is] a waste of everybody's time," he said. "Investing in the Cell, investing in the SPE gives you no long-term benefits."

"There's nothing there that you're going to apply to anything else. You're not going to gain anything except a hatred of the architecture they've created. I don't think they're going to make money off their box. I don't think it's a good solution," he continued.

Newell has criticised Sony's console in the past, once referring to it as "a total disaster on so many levels."

Nevertheless, Valve's The Orange Box, recently released for the PC and Xbox 360, will soon appear on the PS3.

"I think the people who have The Orange Box on the PS3 are going to be happy with their game experience," Newell said.

"We've done the PC and 360 versions here and EA has a team doing the PS3 version — and they'll make the PS3 version a good product; EA got the job done in putting a lot of people with PS3 experience on the project.

"But I think it's harder to get it to the same standard as the 360 and PC versions."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now