Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Portland denies XLeague TV has been axed

By Matt Martin

Wed 16 Jul 2008 2:01pm GMT / 10:01am EDT / 7:01am PDT

Competitive gaming channel going through restructuring to return later this year

Portland TV, the company behind competitive gaming channel XLeague TV, has told that the channel has not been axed.

Despite rumours, Portland has said that the company is reassessing the channel, its format and shows, and intends to return later this year.

"The games industry moves so quickly that we're rethinking XLeague TV," Kim Huggins, head of marketing, told

"It's going to take a couple of months but we've already had feedback from consumers and our partners on where to go next and we have a number of different ideas," she said.

Huggins admitted that the channel is currently running repeats of its shows, and said that the channel could return with completely different content and formats, depending on a consultation period.

The channel was launched in May 2007 backed by GBP 5 million from the Portland Media Group, which also runs adult channels Television X, broadcast on Sky and cable.

Shows on XLeague TV included The Match, sponsored by XFM, and Games Night.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now