Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

PlayStation to expand South American business

Tue 02 Jun 2009 7:02pm GMT / 3:02pm EDT / 12:02pm PDT
Emerging MarketsBusinessPublishing

Uruguay, Paraguay and Brazil later this year as SCEA sets $750 million sales target

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony is set to push the PlayStation business further into South America, expanding the PlayStation 3's presence to Brazil, Uruguay and Paraguay later this year in a bid to net USD 750 million in regional sales for fiscal 2009.

Sony Computer Entertainment America boss, Jack Tretton, announced the target on-stage at the company's E3 press conference, revealing that PlayStation Network accounts now topped 24 million worldwide.

Tretton also lauded the ageing PlayStation 2 console, noting that it outsold next generation consoles in the US in April this year, while over 100 titles will be released for the platform this year.

Meanwhile the PlayStation 3's growth was also outlined, increasing its installed base over 2008 by 40 per cent, equal to 22 million units.

Tretton also revealed that the PlayStation business overall accounted for 30 per cent of total retail activity in 2008.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now