Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PlayStation brand "hitting its stride," says Tretton

Fri 18 Jul 2008 7:44am GMT / 3:44am EDT / 12:44am PDT
Hardware

CEO pleased with PS3's lead over Microsoft's Xbox 360 in June

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Following NPD figures that show the PlayStation 3 outsold the Xbox 360 by 84 per cent in June, Sony CEO Jack Tretton has declared that the PlayStation brand is "hitting its stride" in the US.

Month over month sales growth for the new home console exceeded 94 per cent, according to Sony, as the PS3 sold, 405,488 units compared to Microsoft's 219,800 units.

"The PlayStation brand is truly hitting its stride on its long-term opportunity across all three platforms," commented Tretton.

"Our strong June numbers serve as proof to the continued momentum of the PS3 and affirms that we're exactly where we expected to be."

Hardware sales were driven by the release of Konami exclusive Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots, which sold over 774,600 units in June.

PSP sales were also up 85 per cent compared to last month, with the help of the God of War: Chains of Olympus bundle.

Sales of the PlayStation 2 also increased by 42 per cent from May, with a total of 42.4 million PS2s sold in North America to date.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now