Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

PlayStation 3 install base reaches 23 million worldwide

Mon 03 Aug 2009 7:57am GMT / 3:57am EDT / 12:57am PDT
RetailHardware

Lifetime sales figures revealed; software nears 190 million units

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

The PlayStation 3 has sold 23.8 million units from launch until June 30 2009, according to lifetime sales figures released by Sony.

Software sales - which include all publishers, and PSN titles as well as retail ones - reached a total of 189.7 million during the same period.

The numbers follow Sony's first quarterly financials, released last week, which showed sales of both the PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Portable were down on last year. Sales for the overall PlayStation business, which includes Viao PCs, were down 37.4 per cent year-on-year, resulting in a JPY 37.1 billion loss compared to a profit of JPY 35 billion seen during the same three months the year prior.

Shipments of Microsoft's Xbox 360 have now surpassed 30 million, according to the company, while worldwide Wii shipments had reached 50 million on March 25 2009.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now