Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Playdom acquires online developer Three Melons

Thu 01 Apr 2010 7:44am GMT / 3:44am EDT / 12:44am PDT
BusinessCasual

Games company continues spending spree in social sector

Social gaming company Playdom has acquired Argentinian online games developer Three Melons.

The studio has developed over 50 titles, including LEGO Star Wars and Indiana Jones games, and also uses its own proprietary technology, alongside licensed tech from Unity.

"We are thrilled to join forces with Playdom," offered Mariano Suarez Battan, CEO of Three Melons. "The company has positioned itself for success in 2010 and we look forward to working as a team to deliver on that goal."

Playdom now adds the 45-man team to its portfolio, which includes other recent acquisitions Offbeat Creations, Green Patch and Trippert Labs.

The company, lead by former Electronic Arts exec John Pleasants, raised $43 million last year to pursue aggressive growth in the growing social games sector.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now