Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Petroglyph unveil free-to-play title

Wed 03 Dec 2008 12:32pm GMT / 7:32am EST / 4:32am PST
Development

Online action strategy game, Mytheon, to be financed through micro-transactions

Petroglyph and, online games publisher, True Games Interactive have named their previously announced free-to-play online game, Mytheon.

The title, dubbed an "online action strategy game", will be entirely monetised through micro-transactions and represents the Star Wars: Empire at War developer's first foray into the free-to-play market.

"There really isn't a game on the market today that someone could compare to Mytheon," said Jeff Lujan, founder and chairman of True Games Interactive.

"The game truly creates an entirely new genre offering a combination of features that gamers would normally have to play several different games to get. There is no doubt it is an ambitious project, but Petroglyph has routinely delivered AAA quality, genre-defining games and Mytheon continues that pedigree."

Petroglyph's CEO and general manager, Chuck Kroegel, added: "The passion and energy behind Mytheon has been tremendous at Petroglyph. This is exciting new territory for Petroglyph to explore."

"We are making a compelling and addictive new genre that will have you fully immersed and entertained. We couldn't have asked for a better partner than True Games to take this journey with us and I'm certain that together we'll deliver a long-lasting new franchise."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now