Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

PETA targets 'blood thirsty' Cooking Mama titles

Mon 17 Nov 2008 3:42pm GMT / 10:42am EST / 7:42am PST
Politics

Animal rights group creates parody with "slaughterhouse" references "in the name of accuracy and honesty"

PETA, the animal rights activist group, has targeted the DS and Wii franchise, Cooking Mama, in its latest campaign against animal cruelty.

The groups browser-based game, Cooking Mama: Mama Kills Animals, features a likeness of the character brandishing a kitchen knife, plucking the feathers and taking out the giblets from a turkey, presumably in preparation for the US holiday, Thanksgiving, of which it is the traditional meal.

"Why is PETA picking on poor Mama?" the company explained in a statement. "Because the games are so heavy on dishes made from dead animals that the only things missing are the blood and the slaughterhouse. So in the name of accuracy and honesty, PETA decided to introduce a little of both."

"We wish that all cooking games would allow people to prepare more vegetarian dishes instead of just slicing up animal flesh over and over—so on our site we encourage players to contact Majesco to ask for an all vegetarian-recipe Cooking Mama game."

This follows recent action by the group which resulted in Sega pulling an advert which featured a monkey 'actor'.

1 Comment

Jim Webb
Executive Editor/Community Director

2,232 2,161 1.0
Hold on a moment. PETA is violating Majesco's IP rights and has the audacity to demand Majesco change their content to be more PETA friendly?

[link url=http://www.peta.org/cooking-mama/index.asp?c=pcmgb08
]http://www.peta.org/cooking-mama/index.a...[/link]
^That's on PETA's own website.

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now