Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Perry: Not yet finished with making big games

Thu 06 Aug 2009 8:30am GMT / 4:30am EDT / 1:30am PDT
Development

Talks about multi-million dollar game Plague canned by Atari, and of bringing it back

Acclaim CEO and Gaikai co-founder Dave Perry has spoken to Eurogamer about his multi-million-dollar game Plague, which Atari canned amid financial woes roughly three years ago.

"It was going to be called Plague," Perry told Eurogamer. "It was a really big idea: lots of new hooks - kind of me. I wanted to get back to old Shiny where it was always a surprise and lots of new hooks and things you'd never seen before."

"The idea was you could fire nano-weapons into things that would actually generate objects and delete objects in real-time. It was pretty neat. I was working with a book author, and we were going to get a movie made. It was a big deal.

"But it was a little too big for Atari," he added. "They weren't ready for that."

Perry, who made games such as Earthworm Jim and MDK, is currently working on Gaikai, a streaming service that will allow games to be played within an internet browser.

As for Plague, "that idea is nowhere near done yet", Perry teased, leaving the sentiment unfinished. "Am I done with big games? Hell no. But I'm way too busy to do one right now," he said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now